EU, Western Balkan countries discuss visas

The European Union and five Western Balkan countries began negotiations Thursday on visas to make travel easier within Europe.

The negotiations on visa facilitation also include readmission agreements, which oblige the Western Balkan countries to accept the return of their illegal migrants sent back from other EU countries, the Serbian B92 radio-television reported Thursday.

So far, Albania is the only one of the five countries that has signed an agreement on readmission.

The five countries that sent their interior ministers for negotiations in Brussels are Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia.

Franco Frattini, vice-president of the European Commission, said the European Union wants to complete talks as soon as possible, probably by the end of 2007, for at least some categories of travellers, the report said.

Source: Malaysia Sun Newspaper

Explore posts in the same categories: South Eastern Europe

%d bloggers like this: